WE ARE NO LONGER DOING CLASS III SALES OR TRANSFERS
guns, destructive devices, silencers, all other weapons
are legal to own in South Carolina.
Just for you own edification, if you own a mortar or grenade
launcher each mortar and grenade must be registered separately
(for each Destructive Device) must be paid.
Misinformation about Class III Ownership
in South Carolina
I have been hearing the most incredulous stories from
my customers that they are being told by individuals and
OTHER GUN DEALERS:
1. this weaponry is not legal for South Carolinians
2. You must take a class for $2500.00 to qualify to own
3. it costs over $6,000.00 to get the permits for this
4. only pimps and drug dealers have this kind of weaponry
5. only gang bangers use machine guns
6. they quote from the ATF greenbook and don't know what
they are talking about
7. you have to register with SLED (South Carolina Law
and it goes on and on
you need on Class III weaponry can be verified on
(Class III) Transfers
government charges either $200.00 or $5.00 for the
federal tax stamp, one time fee, and applicable
your state allows Class III weapons then you as a private
citizen can obtain and own this type of weaponry. Securing
NFA weaponry is different than Title I weaponry (long
guns and handguns). Civilians can only own machine guns
produced before May of 1986. Here is a brief list as to
what is available and being produced today for the
civilian market. I will reiterate the following is
a list of what YOU can buy TODAY for Class III weaponry:
silencers (for long guns, semi-auto handguns, and machine
guns, and SBRs), short barreled rifles (SBRs) and shotguns
(SBSs-i.e. 6 1/2" barreled 12 gauge), and destructive
devices (more recently: the Striker or Spas 12 shotguns-mortar
and grenade launchers). Just for you own edification
if you own a mortar or grenade launcher each mortar and
grenade must be registered separately and a $200 fee (for
each Destructive Device) must be paid.
for buying NFA (Class III) Weaponry
but not limited to: machine guns, silencers, Destructive Devices,
All Other Weapons (AOW: cane guns, pen guns, etc.), short-barreled
rifles (SBR), short-barrel shotguns (SBS).
You must be at least 21 old and be legal buy a handgun (meaning
no felonies, violent misdemeanors, dishonorable discharges, etc.).
Call your local CLEO (sheriff, police chief, etc.) and ask what
his procedure is for signing a Form 4 (federal applications
for NFA transfer and ownership-the dealers supplies). SEE STEP 5*
sure that he will sign for you BEFORE you buy the firearm.
If he won't sign, you can't get it. Make
sure you can own it BEFORE you buy it, as payment must be
made in full before the weapon is ordered. (You have to have the
serial number before any paperwork can be processed to begin the
Get two 2" X 2" passport photographs. Attach one to
the reverse side of each of the two copies of the Bureau of Alcohol,
Tobacco and Firearms (BATF) Form 4, dealer supplied. These photos
typically cost $5 to $10.
Complete a small section on the reverse side of the BATF Form
4 that declares why you wish to possess the item. Most folks say
"Collector of firearms".
Take the two copies of the Form 4, with pictures attached and
your section completed, to your local law enforcement agency.
Also take the two FBI FD-258 fingerprint cards an ask an agency
to officially take your fingerprints. This will usually cost $10
have to get a local to sign off and complete the section of
the reverse side of the Form 4. This merely attests that you
are not wanted locally and that the official knows of no law which
will be broken if you are approved by the government. The official
signing should be made aware that they are not held liable if
you do something stupid or break the law.
that can be asked to sign off are:
police chiefs or local law enforcement officers of the same rank,
sheriffs, city or town police chiefs, state police commanders,
district attorneys, state attorney generals, and judges of state
courts that preside over felony trials.
If you own a corporation,
LLC, or Trust: you can transfer the NFA firearm to the entity
without the need for fingerprints or your CLEO's signature. Complete
the Form 4 with the Corp info in the Transferee box, DO NOT put
your name there. On the back in section 15, put your name & corp
title there. Attach a copy of your articles on incorporation.
Fill out the 5330.20 with the Corp on the first line, your name
on the second line, sign & date.
Bring the two copies of the Form 4 and both completed fingerprint
cards with a money order or certified check made out to the BATF
($5.00 for an "AOW" or $200.00 for silencer, machine-gun, destructive
device, SBR, SBS). This is a one time fee for life!!
You also have to send in a form (dealer supplied) to the Department
of the Treasury. This form is called the Certification of Compliance,
18 U.S.C. 922(g)(5)(B), ATF Form 5330.20, which simply states
that you are a United States citizen.
The BATF will first remove the money order and examine the
paperwork for completeness. It will be assigned to an agent, who
will have a nationwide FBI background check performed on you.
Once you pass this (all legal folks over 21 pass it), the BATF
will mailback one certified copy of of the Form 4. On this copy
will be a stamp that looks like a postage stamp. This is a Federal
tax stamp indicating the transfer tax is paid and the item is
When the dealers receives this Form 4 back with the stamp on it
you have to complete a BATF Form 4473 (which the dealers supplies)
and give you the product along with the Form 4.
should immediately make several copies of the Form 4 and carry
one with you at all times when you have the product with you.
Be sure to put the original in a safe place.
on keep making my day!